EXPO 2020 IN DUBAI – OPPORTUNITIES, POSSIBILITIES, GOALS

»Connecting Minds,
Creating the Future«

EXPO 2020 IN DUBAI – OPPORTUNITIES, POSSIBILITIES, GOALS

»Connecting Minds,
Creating the Future«

Next year the Expo is taking place in the Emirate of Dubai – a first for the Middle East, Africa and South Asia (MEASA) region. Almost three billion people live here, together producing a combined gross domestic product of 7.4 billion US dollars. And it’s not just because of this central location and ease of access that Expo 2020 Dubai will be the most international world fair in history. 192 countries – a record – have confirmed their participation. Of the 25 million expected visitors, around 70 percent will come from abroad – many from Europe. Expo 2020 Dubai will focus priamrily on the Asian continent with its two emerging economies India and China. With the motto “Connecting Minds, Creating the Future”, Expo 2020 Dubai aims to foster creativity, innovation and collaboration between nations, cultures and institutions.

25
Mio. Besucher
440
ha
192
Nationen
1
Ländle

The key themes of Expo 2020 Dubai:

Opportunities – this theme defines opportunities as the motor of progress. It shows possibilities for promoting dialogue between people so everyone can fulfil their greatest potential.

Mobility – the focus is on pioneering solutions for more efficient transportation of people and goods and for exchanging new ideas.

Sustainability – here, everything’s about how to achieve progress and prosperity in harmony with our environment and the needs of future generations
zu bringen sind.

Play_01

ATTRACTIONS

EXPO highlights

The Al Wasl Plaza

The gigantic Al Wasl Plaza forms the hub of the Expo. In days gone by Dubai was known as “Al Wasl”, which also means “connection” – summing up the EXPO motto “Connecting Minds, Creating the Future”. At 67.5 metres high and weighing 550 tons, the dome with steel cupola will become the central point of contact for visitors from all over the world and at night will be turned into a 360-degree projection surface on which videos and designs are displayed. The big events and ceremonies of Expo 2020 Dubai will take place here too.

The national tree of the United Arab Emirates casts a cool shadow

Communal areas designed in an Arabic style can be found everywhere at Expo 2020: palm groves, jasmine trees, wadi figs and desert landscapes. Under the leafy shelter of the ghaf, the UAE’s national tree, you can enjoy the cool shadows while you stroll through the exhibition. Incidentally, the shading systems were designed by the construction engineer Werner Sobek, from Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg.

The pavilion of the United Arab Emirates.

The pavilion of the United Arab Emirates is reminiscent of a falcon in flight and is one of the main attractions of Expo 2020 Dubai. The design by world-famous construction engineer and architect Santiago Calatrava tells a story: Sheikh Al Nahyan, the founding father of the United Arab Emirates, sent out falcons to the tribes of the regions in order to unite them. This created a national identity and ultimately led to the founding of the United Arab Emirates. The falcon is intended to symbolise the connection between the United Arab Emirates and the world, and the greatness the global community could achieve through partnership and cooperation. The giant pavilion has a surface area of 15,000 square metres and offers space for exhibitions, an auditorium, restaurants, cafes and VIP lounges.

ATTRACTIONS

EXPO highlights

The Al Wasl Plaza

The gigantic Al Wasl Plaza forms the hub of the Expo. In days gone by Dubai was known as “Al Wasl”, which also means “connection” – summing up the EXPO motto “Connecting Minds, Creating the Future”. At 67.5 metres high and weighing 550 tons, the dome with steel cupola will become the central point of contact for visitors from all over the world and at night will be turned into a 360-degree projection surface on which videos and designs are displayed. The big events and ceremonies of Expo 2020 Dubai will take place here too.

The national tree of the United Arab Emirates casts a cool shadow

Communal areas designed in an Arabic style can be found everywhere at Expo 2020: palm groves, jasmine trees, wadi figs and desert landscapes. Under the leafy shelter of the ghaf, the UAE’s national tree, you can enjoy the cool shadows while you stroll through the exhibition. Incidentally, the shading systems were designed by the construction engineer Werner Sobek, from Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg.

The pavilion of the United Arab Emirates.

The pavilion of the United Arab Emirates is reminiscent of a falcon in flight and is one of the main attractions of Expo 2020 Dubai. The design by world-famous construction engineer and architect Santiago Calatrava tells a story: Sheikh Al Nahyan, the founding father of the United Arab Emirates, sent out falcons to the tribes of the regions in order to unite them. This created a national identity and ultimately led to the founding of the United Arab Emirates. The falcon is intended to symbolise the connection between the United Arab Emirates and the world, and the greatness the global community could achieve through partnership and cooperation. The giant pavilion has a surface area of 15,000 square metres and offers space for exhibitions, an auditorium, restaurants, cafes and VIP lounges.

Baden-Württemberg House

JOIN IN AND BENEFIT

Unsere

JOIN IN AND BENEFIT

WORLD FAIRS

Pointing the way with visionary ideas

Without the Expo, the world would lack such legendary sights as the Eiffel Tower in Paris, the Atomium in Brussels and the Space Needle in Seattle. All were originally designed and built especially for world fairs. Pioneering inventions such as the sewing machine, the free-piston engine, the telephone, the refrigerator and the atomic clock were also introduced to the public at the world fairs that have taken place regularly since 1851. Many futuristic ideas started off here before conquering the world.

For example, the ultra-modern German Pavilion in Barcelona in 1929, designed by the Bauhaus architect Mies van der Rohe, revolutionised construction and architectural aesthetics all over the world.

 

The idea of using world fairs to garner public attention and to thus access new markets was a successful one, even at the first world fair in London. And it remains valid to this day – even though Expos have since been enriched by a further dimension: they are events of interest to wider society, attracting not only specialist visitors but also people from all over the world looking for unusual impressions and experiences.

 

Since 1994 every world fair has been assigned a special theme of global significance, for example the environment, feeding the world, energy supply or mobility of the future. The participants are invited to present their solutions to and ideas on the pressing challenges of the future and to share these with each other.

 

The motto of Expo 2020 in Dubai is “Connecting Minds, Creating the Future”. For the Expo, this means fostering creativity, innovation and collaboration between countries, cultures and institutions, and inspiring visitors to think in new ways in order to develop shared solutions for a better future.

 

A selection of previous Expos:

 

  • Expo 2000 Hannover,
  • »Mankind, Nature, Technology«

 

  • Expo 2005 Aichi,
  • »Nature‘s Wisdom«

 

  • Expo 2010 Shanghai,
  • »Better City, Better Life«

 

  • Expo 2015 Mailand
  • »Feeding the Planet, Energy for Life«

WORLD FAIRS

Pointing the way
with visionary ideas

Without the Expo, the world would lack such legendary sights as the Eiffel Tower in Paris, the Atomium in Brussels and the Space Needle in Seattle. All were originally designed and built especially for world fairs. Pioneering inventions such as the sewing machine, the free-piston engine, the telephone, the refrigerator and the atomic clock were also introduced to the public at the world fairs that have taken place regularly since 1851. Many futuristic ideas started off here before conquering the world.

For example, the ultra-modern German Pavilion in Barcelona in 1929, designed by the Bauhaus architect Mies van der Rohe, revolutionised construction and architectural aesthetics all over the world.

 

The idea of using world fairs to garner public attention and to thus access new markets was a successful one, even at the first world fair in London. And it remains valid to this day – even though Expos have since been enriched by a further dimension: they are events of interest to wider society, attracting not only specialist visitors but also people from all over the world looking for unusual impressions and experiences.

 

Since 1994 every world fair has been assigned a special theme of global significance, for example the environment, feeding the world, energy supply or mobility of the future. The participants are invited to present their solutions to and ideas on the pressing challenges of the future and to share these with each other.

 

The motto of Expo 2020 in Dubai is “Connecting Minds, Creating the Future”. For the Expo, this means fostering creativity, innovation and collaboration between countries, cultures and institutions, and inspiring visitors to think in new ways in order to develop shared solutions for a better future.

 

A selection of previous Expos:

  • Expo 2000 Hannover, »Mankind, Nature, Technology«
  • Expo 2005 Aichi, »Nature‘s Wisdom«
  • Expo 2010 Shanghai, »Better City, Better Life«
  • Expo 2015 Mailand »Feeding the Planet, Energy for Life«

ALL INFO ON THE PAVILION

Our Baden-Württemberg House

Presented by

Organized by

   Data protection       Site notice       Contact

Presented by

Organized by

   Data protection       Site notice       Contact


 

EN
DE EN

Die Expo 2020 in Dubai – Chancen, Möglichkeiten, Ziele

»Connecting Minds,
Creating the Future«

Die Expo 2020 in Dubai – Chancen, Möglichkeiten, Ziele

»Connecting Minds,
Creating the Future«

Nächstes Jahr findet die Expo im Emirat Dubai statt – und damit erstmals in der Region Naher Osten, Afrika und Südasien (MEASA). Hier leben fast drei Milliarden Menschen und erwirtschaften zusammen ein Bruttoinlandsprodukt von 7,4 Billionen US-Dollar. Nicht nur aufgrund dieser zentralen Lage und der guten Erreichbarkeit wird die Expo 2020 Dubai die am stärksten international ausgerichtete Weltausstellung der Geschichte sein. 192 Länder – eine Rekordzahl – haben ihre Teilnahme bestätigt. Von den 25 Millionen erwarteten Besuchern werden etwa 70 Prozent aus dem Ausland kommen – viele davon aus Europa. Vor allem aber steht der asiatische Kontinent mit den beiden aufstrebenden Volkswirtschaften Indien und China im Fokus der Expo 2020 Dubai. Mit dem Motto »Connecting Minds, Creating the Future« will die Expo 2020 Dubai Kreativität, Innovation und Kollaboration zwischen Nationen, Kulturen und Institutionen fördern.

25
Mio. Besucher
440
ha
192
Nationen
1
Ländle

Themenschwerpunkte der Expo 2020 Dubai:

Chancen - Dieser Themenbereich defi­niert Chancen als Motor des Fort­schritts und zeigt Möglichkeiten, um den Austausch zwischen Menschen zu fördern, so dass jeder sein Potenzial bestmöglich entfalten kann.

Mobilität – Im Fokus stehen wegwei­sende Lösungen für einen effizienteren Transport von Menschen und Waren und für den Austausch neuer Ideen.

Nachhaltigkeit – Hier dreht sich alles um die Frage, wie Fortschritt und Wohlstand in Einklang mit unserer Umwelt und mit den Bedürfnissen der kom­menden Generationen
zu bringen sind.

Play_01

Attraktionen

EXPO-Highlights

Die Al Wasl Plaza

Die gigantische Al Wasl Plaza bildet den Mittelpunkt der Expo. Dubai wurde in alten Zeiten „Al Wasl“ genannt, zugleich bedeutet das Wort aber auch „Verbindung“ – ein Sinnbild für das EXPO-Motto „Connecting Minds, Creating the Future“.  Der 67,5 Meter hohe und 550 Tonnen schwere Dom mit der Stahlkuppel wird zentrale Anlaufstelle für die Besucher aus aller Welt und in der Nacht zur weltgrößten 360-Grad-Projektionsfläche, auf der Videos und Designs gezeigt werden. Auch die großen Events und Zeremonien der Expo 2020 Dubai werden hier stattfinden.

Der Nationalbaum der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate spendet kühlen Schatten

Überall auf der Expo 2020 finden sich Aufenthaltsbereiche, die im arabischen Stil gestaltet sind: Palmenhaine, Jasminbäume, Wadi-Feigen und Wüstenlandschaften. Unter dem Blätterdach des Ghaf, des Nationalbaums der VAE, genießen Sie den kühlen Schatten, während Sie durch die Ausstellung schlendern. Die Schattenspender stammen übrigens vom Stuttgarter Bauingenieur Werner Sobek.

Der Pavillon der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate

Der Pavillon der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate erinnert an einen Falken im Flug und ist eine der Hauptattraktionen der Expo 2020 Dubai. Der Entwurf des weltberühmten Bauingenieurs und Architekten Santiago Calatrava erzählt eine Geschichte: Scheich Al Nahyan, der Gründervater der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate, sendete Falken an die Stämme der Gebiete aus, um sie zusammenzuführen. Daraus entstand eine nationale Identität und schließlich die Gründung der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate. Der Falke soll ein Symbol dafür sein, wie die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate sich mit der Welt verbinden und wie die Weltgemeinschaft durch Partnerschaft und Zusammenarbeit Großartiges erreichen kann. Der riesige Pavillon hat eine Fläche von 15.000 Quadratmetern und bietet Raum für Ausstellungen, ein Auditorium, Restaurants, Cafés und VIP-Lounges.

Attraktionen

EXPO-Highlights

Die Al Wasl Plaza

Die gigantische Al Wasl Plaza bildet den Mittelpunkt der Expo. Dubai wurde in alten Zeiten „Al Wasl“ genannt, zugleich bedeutet das Wort aber auch „Verbindung“ – ein Sinnbild für das EXPO-Motto „Connecting Minds, Creating the Future“.  Der 67,5 Meter hohe und 550 Tonnen schwere Dom mit der Stahlkuppel wird zentrale Anlaufstelle für die Besucher aus aller Welt und in der Nacht zur weltgrößten 360-Grad-Projektionsfläche, auf der Videos und Designs gezeigt werden. Auch die großen Events und Zeremonien der Expo 2020 Dubai werden hier stattfinden.

Der Nationalbaum der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate spendet kühlen Schatten

Überall auf der Expo 2020 finden sich Aufenthaltsbereiche, die im arabischen Stil gestaltet sind: Palmenhaine, Jasminbäume, Wadi-Feigen und Wüstenlandschaften. Unter dem Blätterdach des Ghaf, des Nationalbaums der VAE, genießen Sie den kühlen Schatten, während Sie durch die Ausstellung schlendern. Die Schattenspender stammen übrigens vom Stuttgarter Bauingenieur Werner Sobek.

Der Pavillon der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate

Der Pavillon der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate erinnert an einen Falken im Flug und ist eine der Hauptattraktionen der Expo 2020 Dubai. Der Entwurf des weltberühmten Bauingenieurs und Architekten Santiago Calatrava erzählt eine Geschichte: Scheich Al Nahyan, der Gründervater der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate, sendete Falken an die Stämme der Gebiete aus, um sie zusammenzuführen. Daraus entstand eine nationale Identität und schließlich die Gründung der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate. Der Falke soll ein Symbol dafür sein, wie die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate sich mit der Welt verbinden und wie die Weltgemeinschaft durch Partnerschaft und Zusammenarbeit Großartiges erreichen kann. Der riesige Pavillon hat eine Fläche von 15.000 Quadratmetern und bietet Raum für Ausstellungen, ein Auditorium, Restaurants, Cafés und VIP-Lounges.

Baden-Württemberg Haus

Sponsoren

Unsere

Sponsoren

Weltausstellungen

Zeichen setzen mit visionären Ideen

Weltbekannte Sehenswürdigkeiten wie den Eiffelturm in Paris, das Atomium in Brüssel oder die Space Needle in Seattle würde es ohne die Expo nicht geben. Denn extra dafür wurden sie einst entworfen und gebaut. Auch bahnbrechende Erfin­dungen wie die Nähmaschine, der Flug­kolbenmotor, das Telefon, der Kühlschrank oder die Atomuhr wurden auf einer der seit 1851 regelmäßig stattfindenden Welt­ausstellungen erstmals öffentlich gezeigt. Viele zukunftsweisende Ideen traten von hier aus ihren Siegeszug um die Welt an.

So revolutionierte auch der 1929 in Barcelona vom Bauhaus-Architekten Mies van der Rohe gestaltete, hochmoderne Deutsche Pavillon das Bauen und die Architekturästhetik rund um den Globus.

 

Mit Weltausstellungen öffentliche Auf­merksamkeit erzeugen und damit neue Märkte erschließen – dieses Konzept war schon bei der ersten Weltausstellung in London erfolgreich. Und es hat bis heute Gültigkeit – auch wenn Expos heutzutage um eine weitere, neue Dimension reicher sind: Sie sind Veranstaltungen von breitem, gesellschaftlichen Interesse, die nicht nur Fachbesucher anziehen, son­dern auch Menschen aus aller Welt, auf der Suche nach besonderen Ein-drücken und Erlebnissen.

 

Seit 1994 steht jede Weltausstellung im Zeichen eines ganz besonderen The­mas von globaler Bedeutung, wie z. B. Umweltschutz, Welternährung, Energieversorgung oder Mobilität der Zukunft. Die Teilnehmer sind ein­geladen, ihre Lösungen und Ideen zu den drängenden Herausforde­rungen der Zukunft zu präsentieren und diese miteinander zu teilen.

 

Das Motto der Expo 2020 in Dubai lautet: »Connecting Minds, Creating the Future«. Damit will die Expo Kreativität, Innovation und Kollaboration zwischen Natio­nen, Kulturen und Institutionen fördern und zu neuem Denken anregen, um gemeinsam Lösungen für eine bessere Zukunft zu entwickeln.

 

Auswahl bisheriger Expos:

 

  • Expo 2000 Hannover,
  • »Mankind, Nature, Technology«

 

  • Expo 2005 Aichi,
  • »Nature‘s Wisdom«

 

  • Expo 2010 Shanghai,
  • »Better City, Better Life«

 

  • Expo 2015 Mailand
  • »Feeding the Planet, Energy for Life«

Weltausstellungen

Zeichen setzen mit
visionären Ideen

Weltbekannte Sehenswürdigkeiten wie den Eiffelturm in Paris, das Atomium in Brüssel oder die Space Needle in Seattle würde es ohne die Expo nicht geben. Denn extra dafür wurden sie einst entworfen und gebaut. Auch bahnbrechende Erfin­dungen wie die Nähmaschine, der Flug­kolbenmotor, das Telefon, der Kühlschrank oder die Atomuhr wurden auf einer der seit 1851 regelmäßig stattfindenden Welt­ausstellungen erstmals öffentlich gezeigt. Viele zukunftsweisende Ideen traten von hier aus ihren Siegeszug um die Welt an.

So revolutionierte auch der 1929 in Barcelona vom Bauhaus-Architekten Mies van der Rohe gestaltete, hochmoderne Deutsche Pavillon das Bauen und die Architekturästhetik rund um den Globus.

 

Mit Weltausstellungen öffentliche Auf­merksamkeit erzeugen und damit neue Märkte erschließen – dieses Konzept war schon bei der ersten Weltausstellung in London erfolgreich. Und es hat bis heute Gültigkeit – auch wenn Expos heutzutage um eine weitere, neue Dimension reicher sind: Sie sind Veranstaltungen von breitem, gesellschaftlichen Interesse, die nicht nur Fachbesucher anziehen, son­dern auch Menschen aus aller Welt, auf der Suche nach besonderen Eindrücken und Erlebnissen.

 

Seit 1994 steht jede Weltausstellung im Zeichen eines ganz besonderen The­mas von globaler Bedeutung, wie z. B. Umweltschutz, Welternährung, Energieversorgung oder Mobilität der Zukunft. Die Teilnehmer sind ein­geladen, ihre Lösungen und Ideen zu den drängenden Herausforde­rungen der Zukunft zu präsentieren und diese miteinander zu teilen.

 

Das Motto der Expo 2020 in Dubai lautet: »Connecting Minds, Creating the Future«. Damit will die Expo Kreativität, Innovation und Kollaboration zwischen Natio­nen, Kulturen und Institutionen fördern und zu neuem Denken anregen, um gemeinsam Lösungen für eine bessere Zukunft zu entwickeln.

 

Auswahl bisheriger Expos:

  • Expo 2000 Hannover, »Mankind, Nature, Technology«
  • Expo 2005 Aichi, »Nature‘s Wisdom«
  • Expo 2010 Shanghai, »Better City, Better Life«
  • Expo 2015 Mailand »Feeding the Planet, Energy for Life«

ALLE INFOS ZUM PAVILLON

Unser Baden-Württemberg Haus

Präsentiert von

Organisiert von

   Datenschutz       Impressum       Kontakt

Präsentiert von

Organisiert von

   Datenschutz       Impressum       Kontakt


 

DE
EN DE